Skip to main content

Elizabeth is 10th New Jersey City to Require Paid Sick Leave

By November 3, 2015December 8th, 2015No Comments

On November 3, 2015, Elizabeth, New Jersey joined a growing number of municipalities in the state when voters approved a paid sick leave law.  When the law takes effect on March 2, 2016, Elizabeth will become the 10th municipality in the state requiring private employers to provide paid sick time to employees. The ordinance applies to all private employers regardless of size, although the amount of paid sick leave time provided to employees varies based upon the total number of employees.

The 10 municipalities in New Jersey that have a paid sick leave law now include Elizabeth, Jersey City, Newark, East Orange, Patterson, Passaic, Trenton, Montclair, Irvington, and Bloomfield.